Friday November 16, 2012

Where: Berkshire Museum, 39 South St., Pittsfield

Admission: Free with museum admission of $13 for adults and $6 for children unless otherwise noted

Information: (413) 443-7171, www.berkshiremuseum.org

Sponsors: RBC Wealth Management, Pittsfield Cooperative Bank

Opening-night party with a Harry Potter theme and catering from the Old Forge, and living statues from ‘A Midsummer Night's Dream.' Shakespeare & Company's tree from last summer's set of ‘The Tempest' to spread its branches in the Crane Room.

When: Friday 5:30-7:30 p.m.

Admission: $50 for adults, $25 for children Pop-up art shows every Saturday in November, highlighting artists in Alchemy Initiative's Holiday Handicraft Festival

Pittsfield Tree Lighting: Warm up at the museum before the lights go on. Taconic High School Honors Chorus will sing holiday songs.

When: Friday, Nov. 30, from 5 to 8 p.m.

Admission: Half-price

Santa at the museum

When: Sat, Dec. 1, 11 a.m.
to 1 p.m.

Art workshop Niio Perkins demonstrates Iroquois beadwork

When: Sunday, Dec. 2, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Admission: $95 plus $20
materials fee

Kitchen Kaboom: Fun and kid-safe science experiments

When: Saturday at 11 a.


Advertisement

m., and Saturday, Dec. 15, and Thursday, Dec. 27

Family Day

Animals up close, traveling zoo -- 11 a.m.

Berkshire singers teen choir --
11 a.m.

Cookie decorating -- noon

Cookie contest -- taste and vote on winners, 2:30 p.m.

Taconic High School Honors Chorus -- 4 p.m.

The Nutcracker from Moscow's Bolshoi Ballet, screened at Little Cinema

When: Sunday, Dec. 16, 2 p.m., and Tuesday, Dec. 18, 7 p.m.

The Nutcracker from London's Royal Ballet

When: Sunday, Dec. 23, 2 p..m.

Magic show

Magician David Hall, who has performed for Mick Jagger and the Red Sox, will enliven the annual New Year's party.

When: Monday, Dec. 31, 11 a.m., with New Year's celebration at noon

Admission: $15 for adults, $8 for children, includes museum admission