TYRINGHAM -- A father and son claimed victory during Monday’s annual town election.

By a count of 123-53, Town Clerk John N. Curtin held off challenger Norman Beamon, while Michael Curtin edged out Benjamin Havill 93-74 to capture the two-year unexpired term on the Planning Board.

A heavy voter turnout says 178 of 312 -- or 57 percent -- of Tyringham registered voters cast ballots at Town Hall.

Curtin faced his first opposition since being elected to the job 19 years ago. Prior to Curtin, Tyringham had four town clerks in five years as the incumbent has brought stability to the part-time position.

The remaining candidates on the ballot ran unopposed including Selectman Chairman Christopher Johnson, School Committee member Kyle DeSantis and Maureen Lenti. Lenti seeks to replace Ed Nardi on the school board, finishing the last two years of Nardi’s three-year term.

To reach Dick Lindsay:
or (413) 496-6233