CLARKSBURG -- The retiring principal of Clarksburg Elementary School has defeated a former selectwoman for a seat on the Select Board.

Linda Reardon, who ran as a write-in candidate, defeated former Selectmen's Chairwoman Debora LeFave for the three-year term on the board in Tuesday's annual town election. LeFave, who previously served on the board for 11 years, resigned in 2012 in hopes of becoming town administrator. The vote was 169-67.

William Schrade, Jr. was elected in an uncontested race for a two-year seat on the board, the remainder of former Selectman Carl McKinney's term. McKinney resigned this winter to apply for the town administrator position.

Reardon, who has worked as an educator in Northern Berkshire for 24 years, plans to retire from her current post in September.

Both Reardon and Schrade stressed their priorities were addressing accounting discrepancies that have plagued the town since being uncovered last year, as well as the town's failing infrastructure.

The 246 voters represented a 23 percent turnout in an election. Incumbents Jeffrey Levanos was re-elected to the School Committee, and Bryan Tanner returns as moderator. In addition, newcomer Audrey L. Matys ran unopposed for a seat on the Planning Board.

To reach Edward Damon:

or (413) 663-3741, ext 224.

On Twitter: @BE_EDamon