Our opinion: A welcome end to dated US policy on Cuba

12/20/2014 11:57 AM EST
After more than half a century, it cannot be said that America's Cuba policy didn't get a fair chance to work. 
Full Story
Our opinion: Squad's demise is progress on immigration
12/19/2014 02:27 PM EST - The Arizona sheriff who attracted national publicity for his overzealous pursuit of immigrants has quietly given up the effort. Full Story

Our Opinion: Disturbing chase for casino gold
12/19/2014 10:37 AM EST - Schenectady, N.Y., along with two other New York communities, are celebrating, but the spectacle across the border Wednesday left a bad taste all around. Full Story

 
LETTERS TO THE EDITOR
Letter: Community rallied in challenging year

12/20/2014 01:27 PM EST
To the editor: As we approach all the excitement of this holiday season I can't help taking a moment to diligently reflect on some of the very real challenges our community has faced over the past year. 
Full Story
Letter: Keeping true spirit of Christmas alive
12/20/2014 01:28 PM EST - To the Editor: I would like to thank all those persons from the First Baptist Church responsible for the beautiful and inspiring "live" Nativity scene that has been a part of our downtown North Adams community for a number of years. Full Story

Letter: America crippled by disrespect for justice
12/20/2014 01:28 PM EST - To the editor: While out walking I looked up and saw the statue of justice on top of the court building. Full Story

Letter: Clarifying timeline on Red Lion tavern
12/19/2014 01:37 PM EST - Clarifying timeline on Red Lion tavern To the Editor: The caption under the photos of the Red Lion Inn in the Eagle of Dec. Full Story

Letter: Many benefits of Kids 4 Harmony
12/19/2014 01:37 PM EST - Many benefits of Kids 4 Harmony To the editor: The Berkshire Eagle is spot-on with its applause for the after-school music instruction program known as Kids 4 Harmony ("Music program will benefit Massachusetts youth" (editorial, Dec. Full Story

Letter: Sharing is better than competition
12/19/2014 01:37 PM EST - Sharing is better than competition To the editor: I agree with a recent letter suggesting that only justice and fair play will end terrorism. Full Story

Letter to the editor: Excellent care for month at BMC
12/19/2014 01:34 PM EST - Excellent care for month at BMC To the editor: I would like to express my thanks for the care I received during my month-long stay at Berkshire Medical Center this past winter. Full Story

(AP)
Fort Worth firefighters use oxygen to save cat

FORT WORTH, Texas (AP) — North Texas firefighters have used oxygen on a cat that was rescued from a burning house after the residents escaped on their own. Full Story