Our Opinion: The perils of PCP

09/02/2014 12:10 AM EDT
Berkshire County and state leaders in government, law enforcement and health care are confronting the opioid problem plaguing the region head-on, reacting to the high social and economic costs of heroin and prescription drug addiction. 
Full Story
Our Opinion: Labor Day
09/01/2014 12:10 AM EDT - That the successful resolution of the worker-customer revolt at the Eastern Massachusetts-based Market Basket grocery chain came just before Labor Day could not have been more appropriate. Full Story

Our Opinion: A climate for change
08/31/2014 12:11 AM EDT - Modest efforts to confront human-caused global warming are being overwhelmed by the pace of climate change, according to a draft of a major United Nations report to be released this fall. Full Story

 
LETTERS TO THE EDITOR
Letter: Brave criticism of Israeli policy

09/02/2014 12:10 AM EDT
To the editor of THE EAGLE: An ad was placed recently in the New York Times signed by 247 Holocaust survivors and children, grandchildren and other relatives of survivors. 
Full Story
Letter: Self-hating writer misses context
09/02/2014 12:10 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: Shame on the Berkshire Eagle for printing an anonymous letter concerning Israeli policy in Gaza. Full Story

Letter: Gun stupidity goes beyond politics
09/02/2014 12:10 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: I have vowed to avoid any discussion or writing regarding politics, and I’m sticking to my word. Full Story

Letter: Tribute to a new kind of student
09/02/2014 12:10 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: Another school year is underway. Among the students continuing or beginning their education in the Pittsfield public schools are those who do not first come to mind when we think about school. Full Story

Letter: Caring, kindness on display
09/01/2014 12:10 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: The accident on Aug. 20 at the intersection of Routes 7 and 43 was so serious as to result in a fatality. Full Story

Letter: Repair walks for wheelchair users
09/01/2014 12:10 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: I agree with the use of fluorescent flags on electric wheelchairs. Full Story

Letter: Media double standard on Israel
09/01/2014 12:10 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: Fortunately there is a truce in the Gaza war, but issues regarding the fairness and objectivity of media war coverage remain, and may re-occur. Full Story

Police: Utah suspect swallows stolen ring

OREM, Utah (AP) — Two people were arrested on suspicion of felony theft after police said one of them swallowed a stolen ring in an attempt to hide it. Full Story
(Andy Barron/AP)
Burning Man festival draws peak crowd of 66,000

RENO, Nev. (AP) — The Burning Man counterculture festival drew a peak crowd of nearly 66,000 celebrants as it neared an end Monday on the northern Nevada desert. Full Story