Our Opinion: Troubling gas odor

10/02/2014 12:11 AM EDT
The projected 37 percent increase in electricity charges this winter for Berkshire customers is emitting a gassy odor that is causing this significant hike to fail the smell test. 
Full Story
Our Opinion: Debate had its moment
10/01/2014 11:49 AM EDT - Monday night's unwieldy five-way gubernatorial debate in Springfield demonstrated the advantages and disadvantages of including candidates other than those representing the two major parties. Full Story

Our Opinion: Right call on St. Mary
09/30/2014 12:11 AM EDT - Cafua Management’s decision to abandon its plans to raze the former St. Full Story

 
LETTERS TO THE EDITOR
Letter: Cubs are again best of worst

10/02/2014 12:33 AM EDT
To the editor of THE EAGLE: For those of you paying attention, and I know some few of you who are, it is time to note that, at the end of the just concluded major league baseball regular season, of all the teams in last place in all six divisions, the Chicago Cubs had, once again, the best won-lost record. 
Full Story
Letter: A raw deal for vets agent
10/02/2014 12:10 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: As a grateful veteran, I am disgusted and upset by Mayor Bianchi’s decision to terminate veterans agent Rosanne Frieri. Full Story

Letter: Casino will harm Western MA
10/02/2014 12:10 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: If you believe we Springfield-area residents can’t wait for a casino or believe it won’t affect you, consider this before voting on ballot Question 3: Springfield’s host community vote was deliberately rushed through in the middle of July 2013. Full Story

Letter: Grim Pittsfield must do better
10/02/2014 12:10 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: Several weeks ago, my wife and I took a trip through Ohio, Michigan, Canada, New York, Vermont and Massachusetts. Full Story

Letter: Closing schools is not a solution
10/01/2014 12:11 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: I suppose in this day of every other business closing, the way to generate interest in a school budget is to propose closings and stir everyone up. Full Story

Letter: Paths to a better Pittsfield
10/01/2014 12:11 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: I read that the Pittsfield police station needs replacing, City Hall is renting office space outside of City Hall, and Taconic High School is still reorganizing, counting students for viability. Full Story

Letter: Vote Republican Election Day
10/01/2014 12:11 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: I urge all citizens to vote Republican this November. Full Story

AP PHOTOS: Lines linger for famed Chicago hot dogs

CHICAGO (AP) — Chicago's hippest hot dog stand helped elevate the lowly sausage into a culinary superstar by stuffing it with exotic ingredients including escargot, foie gras and rattlesnake. Full Story
(Photo by Greg Allen/Invision/AP, File)
Tracy Morgan may not perform or walk without assistance again

“Saturday Night Live” alum seen outside New York hospital Wednesday in a wheelchair.