Our Opinion: Decorum at the HRC

07/24/2014 12:12 AM EDT
Pittsfield’s reactivated Human Rights Commission will certainly face difficult challenges, but the challenges it faced in only its third meeting Tuesday night were unnecessary and counterproductive. 
Full Story
Our Opinion: Atty. Rota braves lair of the Council
07/23/2014 07:02 AM EDT - Today, William Rota becomes the second attorney endorsed by the Berkshire legal community to go before the Governor's Council in Boston in an attempt to become an associate justice at Southern Berkshire District Court (Eagle, July 22. Full Story

Our Opinion: 'Putin The Great'
07/22/2014 11:04 AM EDT - As if the shooting down of a passenger plane carrying 298 people wasn't monstrous enough, the bodies of those who fell from the sky with Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 were left lying in the heat for days as Ukrainian rebels engaged in what can only be assumed to be a cover-up of their blunder. Full Story

 
LETTERS TO THE EDITOR
Letter: Elm Court plan is right for Lenox

07/24/2014 12:11 AM EDT
To the editor of THE EAGLE: I have proudly lived in Lenox on Old Stockbridge Road for over 23 years and owned a business in Lenox for 37 years. 
Full Story
Letter: City fails residents on sewer problems
07/24/2014 12:11 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: We have been dealing with the city of Pittsfield for at least two months regarding our sewer problem on Acorn Street. Full Story

Letter: Let dogs enjoy dining experience
07/24/2014 12:11 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: I wouldn’t change one word of Llewellyn King’s editorial page column, "Oh, to be a dog in France" (Eagle, July 19). Full Story

Letter: Reading combats summer slide
07/24/2014 12:10 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: Summer is the favorite time of year of many young people, offering them a respite from school and all its demands. Full Story

Letter: Oil stains on legacy of Obama
07/24/2014 12:10 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: I thought our president was a moral man until I read in an AP story in The Eagle July 19 stating that he approves of oil exploration, in this case off our Atlantic coast, using a sonic "cannon" producing sound waves "100 times louder than a jet engine. Full Story

Letter: Gaetani has earned city’s respect
07/23/2014 12:12 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: I am writing in reference to Craig C. Gaetani’s letter to the editor of July 18, "Spiteful City Hall misses major opportunity. Full Story

Letter: Shakespeare at Springside Park
07/23/2014 12:11 AM EDT - To the editor of THE EAGLE: Springside Park on North Street in Pittsfield with its lush gardens and looming old manse is the perfect location for Shakespeare’s "A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Full Story

(AP)
New Jersey sues over Florida pizza shop logo

TRENTON, N.J. (AP) — The New Jersey Turnpike Authority wants a Florida pizza shop to pay a big toll for using a logo similar to the Garden State Parkway's green and yellow signs. Full Story
(Richard Shotwell/Richard Shotwell/Invision/AP)
Bing Crosby's kids recall dad's duet with Bowie

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif. (AP) — David Bowie's duet with Bing Crosby on the entertainer's 1977 Christmas television special left an indelible impression on Crosby's teenage children. Full Story