3 submit papers for Selectmen run in Williamstown


WILLIAMSTOWN -- With a Tuesday deadline to submit nomination papers, residents already can expect to see a race for Select Board as part of the May 13 town election.

Two three-year seats on the board will be open, as longtime members Jane Allen and David Rempell announced they won't seek re-election.

According to Town Clerk Mary Kennedy, three residents have returned papers for the Selectmen seats: Hugh Daley, Andrew Hogeland and Jack Nogueira.

Gary Fuls has taken out nomination papers, Kennedy said, but has not returned them.

Daley, 45, said the board would benefit from his background in finance and strategic planning. Originally from Phoenix, Daley serves as the CFO of Cord Master Engineering in North Adams and has lived in Williamstown with his wife for 14 years.

Daley said a population decline in Williamstown -- 700 residents between the 2000 and 2010 census -- was concerning, and he stressed the importance of economic development. He also noted the importance of having new police and fire department buildings and a state-of-the-art high school.

"These things are expenses, but can also be seen as investments," he said.

Nogueria, 64, has served on the Rent Control Board for 15 years and as chairman for the last eight. He has lived in Williamstown since 1992 and works as a senior instructor with the National Safety Council.

"I never wanted to run against anyone on the board because I always felt they did a good job," he said. "I thought this was a good time for me to run for the position."

Nogueria said one of his main concerns was the need for more affordable housing. Nogueria added that he was interested in the discussion surrounding building a new police station.

Efforts to reach Hogeland were unsuccessful. Hogeland has previously served on the Conservation Commission, Planning Board, and Finance Committee. He has also served on the Public Safety Building Study Committee, created to explore sites for a new police station and possibly joint police and fire facility.

Nomination papers for the town election must be returned to the town clerk's office by 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday with a minimum of 28 signatures from registered voters.

The following residents had taken out papers for other open positions:

n John Skavlem for another three-year term on the School Committee.

n Amy Jeshawitz for a five-year term on the Planning Board, a position currently held by Patrick Dunlavey.

n John Burns for another five-year term on the Housing Authority.

n David Dewey and Kathleen Schultz for two three-year terms on the Board of Library Trustees, which they both currently hold.

To reach Edward Damon:


or (413) 663-3741 ext 224.

On Twitter: @BE_EDamon


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions