Area eighth graders head to Boston for Project 351


BOSTON - More than 400 eighth graders will convene Saturday at Faneuil Hall with Gov. Deval Patrick to participate in a day of community service, known as Project 351.

Since 2011, Project 351 has united eighth-grade ambassadors from every one of Massachusetts' 351 cities and towns for a year's worth of opportunities for service and leadership development.

Each student was nominated by teachers in their school system for their leadership potential, exemplary service and embodiment of compassion, commitment, humility and kindness.

On Saturday, Gov. Patrick will meet with students at Faneuil Hall to launch a day of service celebrating the legacy of Martin Luther King Jr. Service sites include: the Pine Street Inn, Greater Boston Food Bank, Cradles to Crayons, Orchard Gardens Boys & Girls Club, Dudley Street Neighborhood Charter School, Vine Street Community Center and Mason Elementary School.

Project 351 encourages the student ambassadors to "unite, act, and lead" not just on the service day, but throughout the year.

Berkshire County eighth-grade Project 351 youth ambassadors, as confirmed by Project 351

Adams: Jordyn Carpenter, Hoosac Valley Middle and High School

Alford: Nolan Dupont, Mount Everett Regional High School

Becket: Jessica Warren, Nessacus Regional School

Cheshire: Jack Gibeau, Gabriel Abbott Memorial School; Kayla Garabedian, Hoosac Valley

Clarksburg: Benjamin Chesbro, Clarksburg Elementary School

Cummington: Mackenzie Sullivan, Nessacus

Dalton: Emily Cullett and Hannah Ronayne, Nessacus

Egremont: Finnbar "Finn" Chebatoris, Mt. Everett

Florida: Nathan Richardson, Abbott Memorial

Great Barrington: Olivia Jaffe, Monument Valley Regional Middle School

Hancock: Emma Szalewicz, Mount Greylock Regional High School

Hinsdale: Michael Fortin Jr., Nessacus

Lanesborough: Jessica Ryan, Cole Seaman, Mt. Greylock

Lenox: Marguerita Yee, Lenox Memorial Middle and High School

Monterey: Marya Makuc, Mt. Everett

Mount Washington: Sarah Beckwith, Mt. Everett

Otis: John "Richard" Stanmeyer, Monument Valley

Peru: Dane Campbell, Nessacus

Pittsfield: Makayla Hadsell, Herberg Middle School

Sandisfield: Brandon Messina, Monument Valley

Sheffield: Alexander "Alex" Murray, Mt. Everett

Stockbridge: Anna Grace Nimmo, Monument Valley

Tyringham: Samuel Johnson, Lee Middle and High School

West Stockbridge: Jackson Brex, Monument Valley

Williamstown: Tenley Smith, Mt. Greylock


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions