Bachetti wins Modified Feature race at Lebanon Valley Speedway


WEST LEBANON, N.Y. — It had been more than a month since Andy Bachetti got into the winner's circle at Lebanon Valley Speedway. Saturday night, Bachetti ended that streak but good.

Bachetti had the fastest car and used it to his advantage, winning the Berkshire Bank/Armory Garage Modified Feature at the Speedway. It was Bachetti's third win of the season, but first victory since May 30.

"I think we've got our stuff on the right track," Bachetti said after the race. "Things are going good and we've got things in a rhythm. Can't say enough about my team.

"They work real hard for me and that's what this is about."

Bachetti started the Modified feature in fifth and quickly moved up to second. After a pair of cautions after incidents on the dirt, Bachetti passed pole sitter John Ruchel and pulled away for the victory.

Brian Berger finished second, with Keith Flach taking third.

In the Small Block Modified feature, Kenny Tremont Jr., who was fourth in the Modified feature, passed pole sitter Olden Dwyer on the 14th lap and held the field off for the victory. It was Tremont's sixth win in this classification this year.

Dwyer held off the field for second. Frank Harper was third.

There were 25 cars in the Pro Stock feature. After a pitched battle, Rob Yetman passed pole sitter Frank Twing with less than three laps to go. Following Yetman was Jay Corbin, who settled into second.

But on the final lap, Corbin had more horsepower and passed Yetman — the winningest Pro Stock driver in Speedway history — to take the checkered flag. Yetman was second and Twing took third.


Berkshire Bank/Armory Garage Modified Feature (30 laps) — 1. Andy Bachetti, 2. Brian Berger, 3. Keith Flach, 4. Kenny Tremont Jr., 5. Elmo Reckner.

Small Block Modified Feature (24 laps) —1. Kenny Tremont Jr., 2. Olden Dwyer, 3. Frank Harper, 4. Alan Houghtaling, 5. Steve Hough.

Pro Stock Feature (20 laps) —1. Jay Corbin, 2. Rob Yetman, 3. Frank Twing, 4. Jon Routhier, 5. Steven LaRochelle.

Pure Stock Feature No. 1 (8 laps) — 1. Phil Sherman, 2. Bob Palmer, 3. Keri VanDenburg, 4. Dan Cote, 5. Dennis O'Connor.

Pure Stock Feature No. 2 (8 laps) — 1. Zach Sorrentino, 2. John Devine, 3 Brock Couch, 4. Karen Verhagen, 5. Gary Malloy.

Pure Stock Feature No. 3 (12 laps) — 1. Al Relyea, 2. Jeff Meltz Sr., 3. Jason Meltz, 4. Gary O'Brien, 5. Larry Perez.

4-cylinder Single Cam Feature (10 laps) — 1. Tim Meltz, 2. James Street, 3. Jethro Rossman, 4. Jim Williams, 5. Chris White.

4-cylinder Dual-Cam Feature (10 laps) — 1. P.J. Bleau, 2. Kenny Stager, 3. Chris Vandeputte, 4. Shawny Hazel, 5. Todd Goldstein.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions