Berkshire County: Voter registration sessions set


Wednesday is the deadline to register to vote in order to participate in the Massachusetts presidential primary on March 1.

Wednesday is also the deadline for registered voters who wish to change their party enrollment either to another party or to "unenrolled," which is commonly referred to as "independent."

This should not be confused with the United Independent Party (UIP); a party that will have ballots available but with no candidates printed on them.

Voters registered in UIP will not be eligible to take a Democratic, Republican or Green-Rainbow ballot.

Some voters may want to vote for a candidate in a different party from the one they are registered in now.

To do that, the voter must switch to the other party or to "unenrolled" status by 8 p.m. on Feb. 10.

Unenrolled voters or voters enrolled in political designations can ask for any party ballot on Primary Day, but someone registered in a party can only vote on that party's ballot. A Democrat cannot take a Republican ballot, and a Republican cannot take a Democratic one.

Persons who are U.S. citizens, residents of Massachusetts, and who will be at least 18 years old on or before March 1 are eligible to register.

Those meeting these qualifications who have a Massachusetts Driver's License can submit their registration online at

Those registering by mail should have their form hand-canceled to ensure it is postmarked before the deadline.

The following cities and towns have announced voter registration hours on Wednesday, Feb. 10.

Adams: 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Alford: Contact town clerk, 413-528-4536.

Becket: 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. & 7-8 p.m.

Cheshire: 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Clarksburg: 2-4 p.m. & 7-8 p.m.

Dalton: 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Egremont: 6-8 p.m., 66 Jug End Road.

Florida: 2-4 p.m. & 7-8 p.m.

Great Barrington: 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Hancock: 9 a.m. to noon, 2-4 p.m. & 6-8 p.m.

Hinsdale: 2-5 p.m.

Lanesborough: 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Lee: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Lenox: 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Monterey: 2-8 p.m.

Mount Washington: 2-4 p.m. & 7-8 p.m.

New Ashford: 2-4 p.m. & 7-8 p.m.

New Marlborough: 8-4 p.m. & 7-8 p.m.

North Adams: Open until 8 p.m.

Otis: 2-4 p.m. & 7-8 p.m.

Peru: Town clerk, 413-655-8312.

Pittsfield: 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Richmond: 8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. or by calling the town clerk at 413-698-3555.

Sandisfield: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Savoy: 2-4 & 7-8 p.m.

Sheffield: 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Stockbridge: 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Tyringham: 2-4 & 6:30-8 p.m.

Washington: 2-4 p.m. & 7- p.m.

West Stockbridge: Town clerk, 413-232-0300, ext. 300.

Williamstown: Open until 8 p.m.

Windsor: 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions