Boyd re-elected to Sandisfield Select Board


SANDISFIELD >> Incumbent Alice B. Boyd won re-election to a three-year term as selectman in Monday's annual town elections, defeating challenger Bethany Perry, 190-79.

A total of 268 of the town's 571 registered voters, or 46 percent, participated in the election.

Voters also overwhelmingly approved ballot questions calling for the conversion of the elected posts of tax collector and treasurer to appointed posts. Both votes were 170-95.

Also re-elected were Moderator Jean Atwater-Williams, Auditor Ralph E. Morrison, Assessor Bethany Perry, School Committee member John Skipp, Board of Health member Kim Spring, Planner Robert O'Brien and Library Trustee Kathleen Burrows. Non-incumbent Lisa Leavnworth was elected tax collector.

On Saturday, 56 voters, or 9 percent, spent about two hours approving next years budget. The entire $3.4 million budget was approved. This was not necessarily a surprise, as the budget represented an overall decrease of 6.5 percent.

This was due to a lack of capital expenses in the budget, according to Town Clerk Dolores Harasyko.

Contact Derek Gentile at 413-496-6251.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions