Brett Hearn wins Modified feature at Lebanon Valley Speedway


WEST LEBANON, N.Y. — There's nothing like saving the best for last. Just ask Brett Hearn.

Hearn passed Kyle Sheldon on the final lap and took the checkered flag to win Saturday night's Modified feature race at Lebanon Valley Speedway.

In the feature race, Sheldon passed pole-sitter Chad Jeseo on the fourth lap, and distanced himself from the field. But after a collision on the 18th lap, Hearn was in fourth place off the yellow caution. On the restart, Hearn passed Steve Hough for third.

A second restart helped Hearn get by Jeseo into second place. The two raced side-by-side but on turn 2 in the final lap, Hearn got past Sheldon and won the race. It was Hearn's second consecutive win.

"Tonight was a little harder," Hearn said in a statement. "I thought we might have to settle [for] second at the end because the tires were so overheated.

"I got just enough of a run there on the last lap ... to execute the pass."

Sheldon held off Jeseo, followed by Brian Berger and Kenny Tremont Jr.

Tremont won the Small Block Modifieds. A restart on lap 11 enabled Tremont to move from fourth to second. Tremont passed Alan Houghtaling on lap 14, and took it home for his second win in as many weeks.

Houghtaling was second, followed by Rob Pitcher, Brett Haas and Frank Harper.

There was a lengthy red-flag delay in the Sportsman feature with multiple collisions on the second lap.

In the race, Jeff Watson took command of the field on the eighth lap, and nobody caught him. Kevin Ward took second.

The Pro Stock feature was red flagged after five laps because of rain Saturday night. It will be picked up in the fifth lap next Saturday, with Jay Corbin leading.


Madsen Overhead Doors/Mark's Variety Modified Feature (30 laps) — 1. Brett Hearn, 2. Kyle Sheldon, 3. Chad Jeseo, 4. Brian Berger, 5. Kenny Tremont Jr.

Small Block Modified Feature (24 laps) — 1. Tremont, 2. Alan Houghtaling, 3. Rob Pitcher, 4. Brett Haas, 5. Frank Harper.

Unofficial Sportsman Andrew Sherman Memorial (20 laps) — 1. Jeff Watson, 2. Kevin Ward, 3. John Virgilio 4, Michael Sabia, 5. Chris Lynch.

Pure Stock Feature No. 1 (8 laps) — 1. Scott Morris, 2. Zach Seyerlein, 3. Dennis O'Connor, 4. Dan Cote, 5. Bill Deak Sr.

Pure Stock Feature No. 2 (8 laps) —1. Jesse Murphy, Dave Stickles, Zach Sorrentino, 4. Clifford Booth, 5. Nick Reilly.

Pure Stock Feature No. 3 (12 laps) — 1. Jason Meltz, 2. Al Relyea, 3. Jay Casey, 4. Ray Hall Sr., 5. Jeff Meltz Sr.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions