College roundup: MCLA's Quackenbush earns fourth consecutive All-MASCAC selection


WESTFIELD — MCLA pitcher Rachel Quackenbush earned a fourth consecutive All-MASCAC first-team selection.

Quackenbush comes into the conference tournament leading MASCAC with 137 strikeouts, and she is second in the conference with a 1.92 earned-run average.

The senior right-hander from Hoosick Falls, N.Y., is one of three MCLA players named to the All-MASCAC team.

Angelica Perfido, a senior second baseman from Whately and Jennifer Sicinski a senior catcher from Shelton, Conn., were named to the second team.

Sydney Despres of Worcester State is the player of the year, Kaylee Sylvestre of Fitchburg State is the rookie of the year and Westfield's Colleen Bannister is the coach of the year.


WILLIAMSTOWN >> At one time, Williams was 5-5 overall and stuck in a rut. But the Ephs have won five of their last six games, and are two wins away from winning a NESCAC title.

"Our team is starting to play a more balanced game in regards to offense and defense," Eph coach George McCormack said in a release. "We are continually striving to play four strong quarters of lacrosse."

The seventh-seeded Ephs upset No. 2 Amherst 11-10 last weekend. The Ephs jump from the frying pan into the proverbial fire when they play No. 1 seed Tufts in a semifinal on Saturday. The teams played each other in the semifinals back in 2014, with Tufts winning 17-6. Bowdoin and Middlebury will play in the other semifinal Saturday. The doubleheader begins at noon. The championship game is Sunday.

Tufts is a two-time NCAA Division III champion and has won the last six NESCAC titles. In fact, the last time the Jumbos weren't in the final game was in 2008, when Williams beat Bowdoin for the Ephs' lone tournament championship.


LEWISTON, MAINE >> The defending NCAA Division III champion Williams women and their male Eph counterparts head to Bates this weekend to compete in the NESCAC Tournament.

The Williams women are the top seed in the tournament and will play the winner of the match between No. 4 Bowdoin and No. 5 Wesleyan. Bowdoin beat Williams 6-3 in the regular season, for the Ephs' only loss. Williams is the defending NESCAC champion.

The Eph men are seeking their first NESCAC title since 2013. Williams opens tournament play as the No. 3 seed, and will play sixth-seeded Amherst.


HADLEY >> Thirty members of the Williams track and field teams earned All-NESCAC honors.

The teams were led by freshman Denver Williams, who was named the most outstanding rookie performer at the NESCAC championship. Both Williams teams claimed NESCAC titles.

Men's selections — Pierceson Brown, pole vault; Lloyd Campbell, shot put; Colin Cotton, 5,000 meters; Emmanuel Daring, 400, 4-by-100 relay, 4-by-400 relay; Conor Dunham, 110 and 400 hurdles; Elliot Fong, 4-by-100 relay; Todd Ford, 4-by-800 relay; James Heinl, javelin; Luke Hinz, 4-by-88 relay; Christian Holway, long jump; Ian Kagame, high jump; Kyle Kistinger, 4-by-800 relay; Bijan Mazaheri, 5,000, 10,000; Tobias Muellers, 4-by-400 relay; Katakyie Ofori-Atta, 100 meters, 200 meters, 4-by-100 relay.

Women's selections — Yvonne Bungei, 4-by-800 relay; Helene Hall, high jump; Anna Harlee, 1,500 meters, 4-by-800 relay; Kayley McGonagle, 400; Elowyn Pfeiffer, 3,000 meter steeplechase, 4-by-800 relay; Chloe Rogers, triple jump; Lacey Serletti, 5,000; Emily Sundquist 3,000 meter steeplechase, 5,000; Grace Weatherall, 100; Denver Williams, 200, 400; Stella Worters, 4-by-800 relay.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions