Derby retains seat

Tuesday, May 13
HANCOCK — Incumbent Chairman Sherman Derby captured a three-year term as on the Board of Selectman, defeating Michael Hadley in the only contested race in yesterday's annual election.

Nearly 21 percent of registered town voters — 109 of 520 — cast ballots in the election.

Incumbent candidates elected in uncontested races for three-year positions include: Rachel Rhodes, Board of Health; Wendy Kipp, library trustee; Lydia Cassavaugh, School Committee; John Smith, Cemetery Committee; Mark Gaskill, Finance Committee; and Patricia Herrick, Planning Board.

In addition to his post on the Board of Selectmen, Derby also was elected to a three-year term on the Planning Board.

Art Williams won an uncontested two-year position on the Board of Selectman and will replace John Howard, who recently resigned.

To reach Amy Carr:, (413) 496-6233.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions