Former selectwoman, incumbent win Monterey races

Thursday May 10, 2012

MONTEREY -- Only one seat turned over on the town's Select Board after Tuesday's election.

Running unopposed, Muriel Lazzarini will take the two-year seat opened up by the January resignation of Jon athan Sylbert.

Lazzarini has previously served on the town's Select Board as chairwoman.

In the second board race of the day, incumbent Wayne Burkhart defended his seat from challenger Kenneth Basler, former owner of the Monterey General Store, winning the three-year renewal 97 votes to 78.

For the Planning Board, Roger Tryon picked up the open, two-year seat, beating Ian Jenkins 118 to 57.

Out of the town's 723 registered voters, 187 cast a ballot for a 26 percent participation rate.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions