Hearn wins Modified feature race at Lebanon Valley Speedway


WEST LEBANON, N.Y. — Brett Hearn beat the field and the rain Saturday night, winning the 30-lap Modified feature race at Lebanon Valley Speedway.

Hearn started 14th in the feature, but an early wreck slowed things down. When the green flag flew again, Hearn started moving up through the field. By the fifth lap, he was in sixth and then started challenging the leaders.

Kyle Hoffman was second on lap 8, behind Olden Dwyer, who started on the pole. Four laps later, some traffic enabled Hoffman to get past Dwyer. The 13th lap was lucky for Hearn, who passed Hoffman to take the lead for keeps.

"It's a new car for us here for the first time in about four years," Hearn said in a release. "It was a matter of finding out what this car likes."

Kenny Tremont Jr. finished second, followed by Hoffman and Keith Flach.

Tremont had better luck in the Small Block Modified Feature. He passed pole sitter Chad Pierce early on, and never gave up the lead.

Brett Haas battled his way through a couple of incidents, and took second as a late yellow bunched the field. He could not catch Tremont. Steve Hough took third.

In the Pro Stock Feature, Victor Hopkins started on the pole, and went the distance for the win. Jay Corbin and Rick Dempsey battled behind Hopkins, and Corbett made a pass on the final lap to finish second.

Late rains forced the Sportsman feature to be postponed. That means there will be two Sportsman feature races this weekend.


Bonded Concrete/Empire Chemical Modified Feature (30 laps) — 1. Brett Hearn, 2. Kenny Tremont, Jr., 3. Kyle Hoffman, 4. Keith Flach, 5. Elmo Reckner.

Small Block Modified Feature (24 laps) —1. Kenny Tremont Jr., 2. Brett Haas, 3. Steve Hough, 4. J.R. Heffner, 5. Frank Harper.

Pro Stock Feature (20 laps) — 1. Victor Hopkins, 2. Jay Corbin, 3. Rick Dempsey, 4. Frank Twing, 5. Rob Yetman.

Pure Stock Feature No. 1 (8 laps) — 1. Gary O'Brien, 2. Jesse Murphy, 3. Ed Hatch, Zach Sorrentino (tie), 5. Zach Seyerlein.

Pure Stock Feature No. 2 (8 laps) — 1. Dom Denue, 2. Tim Thompson, 3. Harold Robitaille, 4. Nick Reilly, 5. Joe Walcott.

Pure Stock Feature No. 3 (12 laps) — 1. Al Relyea, 2. Jeff, Meltz Sr., 3. Jason Meltz, 4. Ray Hall, 5. Jeff Kreutziger.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions