Incumbent park commissioner holds off challenge in Tyringham election


TYRINGHAM — Christopher Johnson remains a park commissioner, winning the lone contested race in Tuesday's annual town election.

The incumbent defeated challenger Madison Curtin, 57-39 for another three-year term.

Voters did endorse several changes in Town Hall: James Consolati as the newest selectman, Peter Salinetti and Rebecca Honig join the Planning Board and Bill Cosel grabs a seat on the Board of Assessors.

All four ran unopposed; three succeeding incumbents and a fourth filling a vacancy.

Consolati, chairman of the Tyringham Finance Committee, succeeds Jerry Miller, who opted against a re-election bid for another three-year term as a selectman.

Cosel replaces Assessor Marion "Terry" Clark, who decided to leave the position when her term ends.

Salinetti goes from alternate to a full-time Planning Board member as Michael Curtin vacated the seat on the five-person board.

Honing will serve out the three years left on Holly Ketron's term as she had resigned from the Planning Board.

Alan Wilcox will fill the vacant seat on the Board of Assessors, garnering 41 write-in votes to serve out the final year of a three-term.

Town Clerk April Curtin reported 100 of Tyringham's 329 registered voters went to the polls, a 30 percent turnout.

Contact Dick Lindsay at 413 496-6233.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions