Incumbent Peru Select Board chairman fends off challenger


PERU — The incumbent Select Board chairman fended off a challenge in one of two contested races during Saturday's annual town election.

Chairman Verne Leach earned another three-year term, outpolling Bonny DiTomasso, 126-97. Edward Munch defeated Kimberly Wetherell, 133-88, for a two-year unexpired term on the board. Munch, who had previously been a selectman, currently serves on the Conservation Commission and Planning Board.

In all, 225 registered voters went to the polls, a nearly 38 percent turnout.

Five of the elected positions up for grabs — two of them contested — were filled by write-in candidates as no one was listed for those positions on the ballot.

Samuel Haupt edged David Grant, 50-44, for a five year term on the Finance Committee, while Wetherell secured a five year term on the Planning Board, defeating Nanette Moore, 38-17.

The write-in winners were Richard Burke for tree warden, and Peggy White and Kay Miller for two- and three-year terms, respectively, for the Board of Health. Moore was listed on the ballot for the one-year term on the health board, easily turning back a write-in challenge from Kimberly Kaminski, 117-33.

Incumbent Coralie Pelkey ran unopposed for a two-year term as a constable.

Contact Dick Lindsay at 413-496-6233.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions