Jeseo wins King of the Track feature at Lebanon Valley


WEST LEBANON, N.Y. — Chad Jeseo took the pole in Saturday's Rifenburg Construction King of the Track feature race and held onto the top spot through the checkered flag to win the $5,000 prize at Lebanon Valley Speedway.

With rains forcing a hurry-up procedure at the track, Jeseo used his pole position to avoid a stack-up on the second lap and open a sizeable lead. Andy Bachetti came close to overtaking Jeseo towards the end of the race, but after starting 14th Bachetti's car didn't have enough left to pull off an overtake.

"With about ten [laps] to go, I saw that Bachetti had broke[n] into second and I knew we were going to have our hands full," Jeseo said in a release. "That's when we really started picking the pace up. I saw [Bachetti] beneath me a couple of times, but the car was spot on."

Mike King finished in third, Matt Pupello finished fourth an Kyle Armstrong beat out Brett Hearn for fifth. The win was Jeseo's second Modified victory in his career.

In the Small Block Modifieds, Kenny Tremont Jr. had 50 pounds added to his car by officials after dominating the class so far — he won six out of eight coming in — and that pushed him back into the middle of the pack. Alan Houghtaling won the race, overtaking Brian Peterson on the second lap and never looking back for his first win of the year. J.R. Heffner finished second and Peter Carlotto finished third.

In the Pro Stock race, Ray Hall Jr. started out hot and passed poll-sitter Joe LaFlamme, but Hall faded late. Jay Corbin took the lead away with seven laps left with Rick Duzlak giving chase. Duzlak eventually ran down Corbin in the final laps, and on the last lap Duzlak made a great move on turn 2 to grab the lead for good. Rob Yetman made a late charge to finish second, with Corbin finishing third.

In the Sportsman feature, points leader Jeff Watson moved up from 11th at the start to take the win. Rob Maxon finished second and Frank Hoard Jr. was third.

In Pure Stock, Bill Deak Jr., Jay Casey and Ray Hall Sr. each won features.


Rifenburg Construction King of the Track Modified Feature (30 laps) — 1. Chad Jeseo, 2. Andy Bachetti, 3. Mike King, 4. Matt Pupello, 5. Kyle Armstrong.

Small Block Modified Feature (24 laps) — 1. Alan Houghtaling, 2. J.R. Heffner, 3. Peter Carlotto, 4. Steve Hough, 5. Brian Peterson.

Sportsman Feature (20 laps) — 1. Jeff Watson, 2. Rob Maxon, 3. Frank Hoard Jr., 4. Chris Lynch, 5. Kevin Ward.

Pro Stock Feature (20 laps) — 1. Rick Duzlak, 2. Rob Yetman, 3. Jay Corbin, 4. Nick Hilt, 5. Daniel Sanchez.

Pure Stock Feature No. 1 (8 laps) — 1. Bill Deak Jr., 2. Chris Streeter, 3. Shawn Perez, 4. Karen Verhagen, 5. John Tisko.

Pure Stock Feature No. 2 (8 laps) — 1. Jay Casey, 2. Clifford Booth, 3. Rob Palmer, 4. Dom Denue, 5. Phil Sherman.

Pure Stock Feature No. 3 (12 laps) — 1. Ray Hall Sr., 2. Jason Meltz, 3. Al Relyea, 4. Jeff Kreutziger, 5. Zach Seyerlein.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions