Kenny Tremont Jr wins Modified Feature to open Lebanon Valley Speedway season


WEST LEBANON, N.Y. — As the curtain rose on the 2016 racing season at Lebanon Valley Speedway, Kenny Tremont Jr. brought down the checkered flag in the Modified Feature.

Tremont won his 126th Modified Feature race at the Valley Saturday night, holding off Brett Hearn.

"[The car] was actually pretty good. It took me a while to get used to going through the hole in turn one," Tremont said in a release. "Once I figured out what was best for the car, I think we were able to go through there and make up some time. That was the key."

Wind and attrition among the cars were two big stories in the Modified Feature. The biggest incident came on the eighth lap when Mike King and Denny Soltis collided and spun into the wall on Turn 1. King walked away from the crash, while Soltis was checked out for a back injury.

On the restart, Tremont took to the outside of Hearn in Turns 1 and 2, and slid into second behind Keith Flach. One lap later, Tremont moved past Flach and took the lead for keeps.

Hearn had a broken right rear shock tower, but finished second. Flach was third, Tyler Dippel was fourth and Eddie Marshall took fifth.

In the Pro Stock feature, Rob Yetman made a move midway through the race to charge through the top five. He made a move on the backstretch to race past Rick Duzlack and Jon Routhier to claim the win. A late caution led to a one-lap shootout, which Yetman won. It was Yetman's record 46th career win in Lebanon Valley's Pro Stock Division.


Saturday's top finishers:

L&M Motors/Sayers Auto Wrecking Modified Feature (30 laps) —1. Kenny Tremont Jr., 2. Brett Hearn, 3. Keith Flach, 4. Tyler Dippel, 5. Eddie Marshall.

Pro Stock Feature (20 laps) — 1. Rob Yetman, 2. Rick Duzlak, 3. Jay Corbin, 4. Jon Routhier, 5. Paul LaRochelle.

Pure Stock Feature #1 (10 laps) — 1. Al Relyea, 2. Jay Casey, 3. Jeff Meltz, Jr., 4. Scott Morris, 5. Jeff Kreutziger.

Pure Stock Feature #2 (10 laps) — 1. Kevin Paul, 2. Chris Murphy, 3. Dennis O'Connor, 4. Tom Denue, 5. Harold Robitaille.

Pure Stock Feature #3 (10 laps) — 1. Jason Meltz, 2. Ray Hall, Sr., 3. Jeff Meltz, Sr., 4. Dave Stickles, 5. Shawn Perez.

4-Cylinder Dual-Cam Feature — 1. Kenny Stager, 2. Chris Vandeputte, 3. Shawny Hazel, 4. Ammo Wright, 5. Daniel Hoag.

4-Cylinder Single-Cam Feature — 1. Brandon Ely, 2. Tim Meltz, 3. Jethro Rossman, 4. Jim Williams, 5. Luke Williams.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions