Longtime Egremont selectman elected to fifth term


EGREMONT >> Bruce Turner captured a fifth term on the Select Board during Tuesday's annual town election.

Turner turned back a challenge from former Finance Committee member Kevin Zurrin, 234-157. This was Zurrin's second attempt at unseating an incumbent, losing to Selectman Charles Flynn two years ago by 54 votes.

The only other contested race on the ballot saw James Olmsted defeat William Wood Jr., 205-172, for constable. Olmsted succeeds longtime constable Rosemary Beasancon, who retired from the position following last week's annual town meeting.

The non-binding ballot question went down to defeat, 200-174. Voters rejected the notion taxpayers' dollars be spent during the winter to plow and sand 17 private roads totaling seven miles.

Among the winners of the uncontested races were Juliette Haas, replacing Margaret "Peggy" Muskrat as town clerk. Haas had been appointed to fill the role earlier this year after Muskrat retired following more than 20 years in office.

Newcomers Susan Turner and Lucinda Fenn-Vermuelen were elected in uncontested races to Board of Assessors and Planning Board, respectively.

Contact Dick Lindsay at 413 496-6233


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions