Mass. honors firefighters in annual ceremony


WORCESTER (AP) -- Two Massachusetts firefighters who died while battling blazes in separate towns last year are among those from 15 communities honored by Gov. Deval Patrick and Lt. Gov. Timothy Murray.

Jon Davies was killed after the rear of burning building collapsed on him as he searched for a possible victim in Worcester on Dec. 8 . Just over two weeks later, James Rice died after breathing toxic fumes while fighting a three-alarm a fire in Peabody. Their families received Medals of Honor during the annual Firefighter of the Year Awards ceremony held Tuesday in Worcester.

Patrick says Massachusetts appreciates, honors and values sacrifices and selflessness that firefighters show in the face of danger.

Other honored include firefighters from Maynard, Stow, Brookline, Easton, Leominster, Bridgewater, Fitchburg, Hyannis, Lynn, Salem, Saugus and Westfield.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions