Moderator, Planning Board races, override for fire truck spending top Great Barrington ballot


GREAT BARRINGTON >> Races for moderator and Planning Board and a ballot question to pay for a fire truck highlights Tuesday's annual town elections.

Polls are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the town fire station on State Road for precincts A, C and D and at the Housatonic Community Center for precinct B.

The race for a one-year term as moderator pits Finance Committee member Michael O. Wise against engineer Stephen E. McAllister, to replace longtime Moderator Edward G. McCormick.

Also on the ballot is a three-way race for two three-year slots on the Planning Board. Incumbent Brandee K. Nelson will be challenged by Jeremy K. Higa and Glenn O. Goble for the post.

Incumbent Lauren E. Clark is joined by three other newcomers in the race for two three-year spots on the Board of Library trustees. They are Dana K. Coleman, Rachel Louchen and Michelle M. Loubert.

In uncontested races, Daniel B. Bailley and Stephen C. Bannon are on the ballot for new three-year terms on the Select Board. Incumbent Michael O. Lanoue is running for another three-year term on the Board of Health and Carolyn S. Ivory is running again for a three-year ZBA term.

Incumbent Thomas A. Blauvelt is joined by newcomer Janet R. Lee for two three-year spots on the Finance Committee.

Voters will also be asked to exempt the $600,000 for a new fire truck from the levy limitation of Proposition 2 1/2. Voters approved the measure at the annual town meeting.

Contact Derek Gentile at 413-496-6251.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions