No contest for nine incumbents in New Marlborough election


NEW MARLBOROUGH — A total of nine incumbents will be seeking re-election unopposed at Monday's annual town elections, to be held at the Mill River Town Hall.

Polls will be open from noon to 7 p.m.

Voters will also be asked to approve a debt exclusion vote of $300,000, to finance a portion of the town and school budget for the upcoming fiscal year. Voters approved the budget at last week's annual town meeting.

Seeking re-election to three-year terms are Selectwoman Michele Shelby, Assessor Marcia Pshenishny, Health Board member John Bellinger, Cemetery Commissioner Tammy Palmer, library trustee Brian Mikesell and Finance Committee member Prudence Spaulding.

Incumbents Barry Shapiro and Bruce Ruane are seeking one-year terms as moderator and tree warden, respectively. Patricia Handyman is seeking a five-year term on the planning board.

Newcomers Robert Miller and Thomas Stalker are seeking one- and three-year terms on the Finance Committee.

Contact Derek Gentile at 413-496-6251.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions