No contested races in Lenox town elections


LENOX — A quiet local election season is shaping up now that the deadline for candidates to return nomination papers to Town Hall has passed.

The ballot shows no contests for any town posts.

Selectman Kenneth Fowler, a local business leader, former Chamber of Commerce president and owner of the Shear Design hair salon, is the sole candidate for a third three-year term.

Endorsed by the Lenox Democratic Caucus, he was first elected to the board in May 2010, winning by 22 voters over David Roche, who ran again in 2011 and won as the top vote-getter in a four-way race for two seats.

John McNinch, owner of the Olde Heritage Tavern and a former selectman, is unopposed for a second one-year term as Town Moderator.

For School Committee, Democrat Robert Vaughan, the current chairman, is unopposed for another three-year term while David Rimmler, a former chemical industry executive and now a stay-at-home father, is the only candidate to fill the seat being vacated by Veronica Fenton.

Democrat Molly Elliot is seeking a two-year School Committee post following her appointment last November to complete the term held by the late Jo Anne Magee. Running for a one-year term is Dr. Christine Mauro, a Democrat appointed earlier this year following the resignation of Michael Moran. Mauro, who moved to Lenox last year, is medical director for surgical innovations at Medtronic in New Haven, Conn.

On the ballot for a five-year Planning Board slot is Pamela Kueber, a corporate communications/marketing specialist and former zoning board member who was active in helping formulate the school district's five-year strategic plan. A three-year Planning Board term has no listed candidate, but John Tansey, managing partner of Lenox Executive Search, is expected to mount a write-in campaign.

Other unopposed candidates on the ballot are Dianne Romeo for a three-year Board of Health slot and Diana Kirby for a five-year Lenox Housing Authority post.

There is no listed candidate for a three-year vacancy on the Board of Assessors.

The annual town election is on Monday, May 9, with polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at Town Hall. The last day to register to vote is April 19.

The annual town meeting is at 7 p.m. Thursday, May 5 in the Duffin Theatre of Lenox Memorial Middle and High School. The last day to register to vote at the meeting is April 15.

Contact Clarence Fanto at 413-637-2551.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions