Pittsfield: PHS names MCAS scholars


PITTSFIELD >> Pittsfield High School Principal Matthew Bishop announced that 49 PHS seniors are among students statewide to receive the John and Abigail Adams Scholarship.

The scholarship is available to students whose MCAS performance puts them at the top 25 percent of their district.

To be eligible, students must either score Advanced on one exam and Proficient on the other, or Advanced on both the English and Math exams.

The scholarship recipients are Cortney Anderson, Victoria Bailey, Kaytlin Barcus, Parker Blessing, Chloe Bordeau, Ethan Bordeau, Ty Bramer, Alexis Burke, Jenna Chalfonte, Evan Cote, Haley Cowlin, Naomi Elzner, Samuel Fick, Sharanya Ganesh, Matthew Gimlewicz, Ashley Hamel, Logan Higuera, Louis Higuera, Carly Holmes, Allison Hunt, Hannah King, Samuel Kittredge, Michaela LaBlanc, Reilly Lee, Thomas Lee, Emma Lezberg, and Jacob Lezberg.

Also, Taylor Maddalena, Kyle Masters, Ethan McCandless, Molly McGuigan, Jamie McMahon, Jordan Monette, Mary Elizabeth Mooney, Rachael Munch, Simon Nassif, Terrence Nykorchuck, Danielle Palmieri, Christian Pauta, Polina Potochevska, Kevin Rayner, Arthur Rosiello, Brianna Roy, Hannah Stechmann, Thomas Symanski, John Tagliaferro, Shane Tierney, Jessica Trova, and Cameron Volastro.

The Adams Scholarship provides a tuition waiver for up to eight semesters of undergraduate education at a Massachusetts state college or university.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions