Pittsfield Suns' Eric Hamilton named to Futures League's first team


The Pittsfield Suns have been members of the Futures League since 2012, and had yet to record a first-team All-Star on the postseason All-Futures League team. That streak is over.

Infielder Eric Hamilton was named to the Futures League's first team, while Pittsfield outfielder Al Zachary was named to the second team.

Hamilton, a rising senior from SUNY Oswego, set a Futures League record this year with 63 runs batted in and broke team records with 12 home runs and 18 doubles.

He hit .319 and had an OPS of .934. Hamilton had a pair of double-figure hit streaks — a 12-game streak from June 1-15 and a 10-game streak from June 18-30. Hamiton had 207 at-bats, walked nine times and struck out only 21 times.

Zachary, a rising senior from Eastern Connecticut, was named to the second team after hitting .305 and playing a quality center field for the Suns. He had four home runs and 34 RBI, with an OPS of .880.

Five members of the Futures League-champion Nashua Silver Knights were named to the first team, including league most valuable player Mickey Gasper. Gasper hit .421 with 21 doubles and 42 RBI. He is a rising junior at Bryant.

The pitcher of the year is first-team selection Nick Mondak of Torrington. Mondak, who will attend St. John's in the fall, was 4-1 with a 1.45 earned-run average. He struck out 64 in 43 1/3 innings.

The top reliever was Nathan Robinson of Seacoast, a rising senior at Division II Cedarville. He had 10 saves and a 1.39 ERA.

Eight Futures League teams had first-team selections. Seacoast was second with four, while Bristol had two. Pittsfield, Wachusett, Torrington, Brockton and Worcester all had one each.

The Futures League first-team All-Stars were fairly evenly split among all three NCAA Divisions. Seven first-teamers were from Division I schools, four each came from Division II and Division III teams, while Izzy Fuentes of Bristol came out of NAIA school Faulkner.


First team — Mickey Gaspar, C, Nashua; Ryan Sullivan, 1B, Nashua; Kyle Bonicki, 2B, Wachusett; Harry Roberson, SS, Nashua; Eric Hamiton, C, Pittsfield; Michael Hart, OF, Seacoast; Yanni Thanopoulas, OF, Nashua; Frankie Gregoire, OF, Bristol; Jacob Lebel, DH, NYIT; Nick Mondak, P, Torrington; Izzy Fuentes, P, Bristol; Nathan Robinson, P, Seacoast; Clayton Chatham, P, Seacoast; Eric Keating, P, Brockton; Frankie Moscatiello, P, Worcester; Jake Nelson, P, Nashua.

Second team — Mike DeMartino, C, Torrington; Mike D'Acunti, 1B, North Shore; Cam Disarcina, 2B, Nashua; Austin Chauvin, SS, Bristol; Mike Coggeshall, 3B, Worcester; Alex Lewis, DH, Martha's Vineyard; Al Zachary, OF, Pittsfield; Eric Feliz, OF, Brockton, Dillon Nelson, OF,Martha's Vineyard; Kyle Pangallo, Utility, Seacoast; Greg Stagani, P, Worcester; Malachi Emond, P, Torrington; Jeremy Roberts, P, Nashua; Jack Fossand, P, Seacoast; Quinn DiPasquale, P, North Shore; Speros Varinos, P, North Shore; Mike Krieger, P, Bristol.

Contact Howard Herman at 413-496-6253.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions