Savoy voters will decide races for cemetery, parks commissions


SAVOY — Voters on Wednesday will choose between two candidates vying for a single open seat in races for the Cemetery Commission and the Park Commission in the annual town election.

Polls will be open from noon to 8 p.m. at the Savoy Senior Center, 720 Main Road.

Incumbent Allen Carlow will face off against challenger Ronald Malloy for a three-year seat on the Park Commission. For the Cemetery Commission, newcomers Joan Ziter and Bonnie Tovani are looking for one available three-year seat on the cemetery commission.

In uncontested races, Deborah Koamaya is running for a three-year term on the School Committee, while Russell Clarke is the only candidate vying for a seat on the Select Board after incumbent Sean Frank declined to seek re-election. Incumbent Brenda Smith is running unopposed for a three-year term as town assessor.

There are no candidates for a Planning Board seat, town constable and town moderator.

Contact Adam Shanks at 413-496-6376


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions