School board seats filled

Wednesday, May 21
LANESBOROUGH — Lanesborough voters elected two new School Committee members during annual elections yesterday.

The election, which drew 489 of the town's 2,095 registered voters, saw challenger Regina DiLego defeat incumbent Sheila Hebert for a three-year spot and challenger Stephanie Michalak defeat incumbent John Hickey for a two-year term.

DiLego won 282-189 over Hebert, and Michalak won 256-211 over Hickey.

New alliance coming

The candidates will serve on the three-member committee in the first year of the new union. DiLego, 50, of Old State Road, served on the School Committee from 1993 to 2002, and

Michalak is a substitute paraprofessional in Lanesborough School and a member of the School Advisory Council.

Joseph Szczepaniak Jr. ran unopposed and won in the race for Selectmen, filling the seat of Selectwoman Gae Elfenbein, who did not seek re-election this term.

Szczepaniak Jr. received 293 votes, while Douglas Webb (53), John Boleng (40) and Elfenbein (17) scored write-in votes.

Voted to Planning Board

John Friend received 28 write-ins to take the five-year Planning Board seat.

Glen Bean, Assessor, three years; Amy Szczepaniak, Cemetery Committee, three years; William Stevens, Finance Committee, three years; Katharine Westwood, Library Trustee, three years; Robert Reilly, Moderator, one year; Mark Froio, Sewer Commissioner, two years; and William Girard, Tree Warden, three years, all won uncontested races.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions