The Forum: Kiwanis Park of Honor awards $20,000 in scholarships


PITTSFIELD — The Park of Honor Scholarship Committee of the Kiwanis Club of Pittsfield rewarded the local students who are the children or grandchildren of American military veterans with a $1,000 education scholarship through its second annual Park of Honor project.

This year the project was able to increase the number of scholarships of this denomination from 12 to 20. The scholarship funding was created by the generosity of local individuals and businesses that sponsored 670 individual flags proudly displayed in Park Square, from late October through Veterans Day. The project, which also honors all American military veterans, was operated by many volunteers from the Kiwanis Club, local veterans' organizations, Boy Scout troops, and other committed individuals.

According to the Park of Honor Scholarship Committee, each of the following scholarship recipients has demonstrated an outstanding academic record, has contributed to their community through service, and has committed to a career goal by furthering their educations.


Berkshire Arts and Technology Charter Public School: Cortney Munson

Lenox Memorial Middle & High School: Cameron Abderhalden

Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts: Kaliegh Hayes

Massachusetts Maritime Academy: John Powers

Massachusetts Virtual Academy: Michaela Grady

McCann Technical School: Tessa Christman

Monument Mountain Regional School: Brittany Walsh

Mount Everett Regional School: Marina Germain, Lauren Scapin, Sean Smith

Mount Greylock Regional School: Mollyann Haskins

Pittsfield High School: Jenna Chalfonte, Carly Yon

Taconic High School: Kalie Garwood, Jade Schnauber, Jeanicia Smith, Jetter White

Wahconah Regional High School: Astryaal Graham, Erica Perrea

Western New England University: Patrick Tierney


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions