Three town elections yield new selectmen

This story has been amended to correct the name of the Florida school committee member who didn't seek re-election.

Adams, Cheshire and Lenox voters all installed new selectmen following several annual town elections Monday.

The anticipated close race for a seat on the Adams Board of selectmen turned into a decisive win for Jeffrey Snoonian, who defeated incumbent Michael Ouellette by a margin of 711 to 451.

Throughout the campaign, Snoonian vowed to bring a different perspective to Adams during the three-year term. Ouellette was seeking a third term as he wanted to follow through on town initiatives started on his watch.

"I'm excited to get started," Snoonian said after Monday's results were announced.

Two other contested races in Adams saw Kelly Rice defeat Melissa McGovern-Wandrei, 666 to 478, for the position of town treasurer/collector. George Haddad easily won the Board of Assessors seat up for grabs, beating Dennis Gajda, 749-367.

Town Clerk Haley Meczywor says the 20 percent voter turnout was on par with the 2013 annual town election.

In Cheshire, Robert Ciskowski won a three-way race to fill the unexpired term of Selectwoman Gloria Lewis. Ciskowski racked up 275 votes to James Boyle's 164 and the 86 for Karmen Field-Mitchell. Meanwhile, incumbent Selectman Paul Astorino held off E. Richard Sholz, beating the challenger, 288-241.

The Biagini family went one for two during Monday's balloting with Micheal Biagini Jr. edging out James Geary, 273-244, for a seat on the Board of Health. However, Michael Biagini Sr. fell short in the Water Commissioner's race, dropping a 304-217 decision to Rick Gurney.

Lenox's newest selectman is Warren Archey who ran unopposed for the seat vacated by John McNinch, while incumbent Selectman David Roche cruised to re-election unopposed. The lone contest in Lenox was a battle of write-in candidates for a four-year unexpired term on the Planning Board as Thomas Delasco, defeated Philip Knowles, 70-38. Former Selectwoman Linda Messana also won as a solo write-in candidate to capture a five-year seat on the Planning Board.

Florida voters had only one political race to settle on Monday, electing Sara Russell-Scholl to a three-year term on the local school board. Russell-Scholl defeated Darin Lane, 37-25, replacing Joan Lewis who didn't seek re-election.

Clarence Fanto and Dick Lindsay contributed to this report.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions