Town caucus set for Tues.

Saturday, April 05
BECKET — The Town of Becket's annual town caucus is scheduled for Tuesday from noon until 7 p.m. at Becket Town Hall.

Attendees should park behind Town Hall. The purpose of the caucus is to cast ballots for the nomination of candidates for election at the annual Town Election in May. The two persons receiving the highest number of votes cast for the nomination of candidates for an office will be nominated for the office and his or her name will be printed on the ballot.

If a person receives less than 8 percent of the votes, he shall not be declared nominated. The proceedings of the caucus are invalid unless at least 25 voters participate.

The candidates to appear on the caucus ballot are:

  • Board of Selectmen, three-year term, William F. Cavanaugh;

  • Board of Health, three-year term, William S. Fuller;

  • Cemetery Commissioner, three-year term, Alfred E. Moylan Jr.;

  • Constable, one-year term, William H. Elovirta and David N. Devane;

  • Finance Committee, three-year term, Michael J. Falk;

  • Moderator, three-year term, Bruce A. Garlow; and

  • Planning Board, five-year term, Robert T. Ronzio and Ann Lois Krawet.

    Information: (413) 623-8934.


    If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

    Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions