Williams athletics wins Division III award from the ECAC


DANBURY, Conn. -- Williams College has won its eighth Institution of the Year award from the Eastern College Athletic Conference.

Williams has won eight of the 20 awards, which was formerly known as the ECAC Jostens Institution of the Year Award. Williams won the first award in 1995 and last won it two years ago.

The award is now known as the Jim Dougher Institution of the Year award.

Williams finished with 24.25 points, beating out NESCAC rival Amherst (19.15).

Columbia earned the Division I award and Adelphi was the Division II winner.

The schools will receive their awards at the 2014 ECAC Honors Dinner, Sept. 28, at the Sea Crest Beach Hotel in North Falmouth, Mass.

"Williams is honored to be the first Division III recipient of the ECAC Jim Dougher Institution of the Year Award," Williams interim athletic director Bud Fisher said in a release. "This award is a tribute to all of our student-athletes, coaches, staff and admininstrators, as well as Williams College which gives us the support and resources to run the broad-based and top-quality program we support."

The selection process is based on participation and success of an institution's athletic programs.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions