Ronald Reagan tax overhaul

Lawmakers watch as President Ronald Reagan signs into law a landmark tax overhaul bill on the South Lawn of the White House in Washington in 1986. From left: Senate Majority Leader Robert Dole of Kansas; Rep. Raymond McGrath, R-N.Y.; Rep. Dan Rostenkowski, D-Ill., Rep. Frank Guerini, D-N.J.; Sen. Russell Long, D-La.; Rep. William Coyne, D-Pa., and Rep. John Duncan, R-Tenn.