Adams moves town election to June 1

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

The Berkshire Eagle

ADAMS — Due to the pandemic, the Select Board has postponed the annual town election from May 4 to June 1.

The new voter registration deadline is 8 p.m. on Friday, May 22.

In light of widespread practice of social distancing, there are two alternatives to voting in person.

First, the law allows any person taking precautions related to COVID-19 to vote by absentee or early voting ballots by mail. All applications for an absentee ballot or an early voting ballot must be received by the Town Clerk before 5 p.m. on Thursday, May 28, the last business day before the election. Any person may apply for an absentee ballot by sending a signed request to the Town Clerk's office or filling out the absentee ballot application available at the town of Adams website, Early voting ballots must be received by the Town Clerk before the polls close at 8 p.m. on Election Day.

The Early Voting Application is also available at the town website or by calling the Town Clerk's Office at 413-743-8300, ext. 176, to request an application.

Candidates appearing on the ballot include the following people.

Article Continues After Advertisement

Myra L. Wilk is an unopposed candidate for a one-year term as moderator.

Two openings for three-year terms as park commissioner drew only one candidate, Jacob N. Schutz.

Article Continues After These Ads

Christine D. Hoyt is running unopposed for re-election to a three-year term on the Select Board.

George J. Haddad is running unopposed for re-election to a three-year term as Assessor.

Incumbent David Brian Rhoads is running for another three-year term on the Board of Health.

Newcomer Laura Ann Grandchamp is running for a one-year term on the Board of Health.

Article Continues After Advertisement

The race for two spots as library trustee for a term of three years has drawn three candidates: Incumbent Brian R. Bishop, Robert F. Harris and Linda S. Rhoads.

David C. Krzeminski is running for another five-year term as a member of the Planning Board.

Incumbent Frederick S. Hobart is running unopposed for a three-year term as cemetery commissioner.

Running unopposed for a three-year term on the Northern Berkshire Regional Vocational School District Committee is Daniel J. Maloney Jr., and running unopposed for a one-year term on the same school committee is Bruce Dale Shepley.

Running for a contested three-year term on the Hoosac Valley Regional School District Committee are incumbent Regina A. Hill and challenger Erin Milne, and running unopposed for a three-year term is incumbent Adam B. Emerson.

One seat on the Housing Authority and two seats on the Redevelopment Authority did not attract any candidates.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions