Fast Track: Workforce Board adds career readiness counselor

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  


Workforce board adds career readiness counselor

Ruthann Eagen has been hired as South County Career Readiness Coordinator by the MassHire Berkshire Workforce Board. The position is funded by the Berkshire Taconic Community Foundation.

In this role, Eagen will be responsible for assisting the workforce board's youth director with coordinating strategies to further enhance career readiness systems and programs within the public school systems of southern Berkshires County. She also will assist with the development of a South County College and Career Advisory Team and individual school district teams with the goal of having every student graduate with a completed college and career plan.

Eagen, previously, the senior district executive for the Appalachian Trail District of the Western Massachusetts Council of the Boy Scouts of America, can be reached at 413-442-7177, ext. 144, or at


Two join health care board

Article Continues After Advertisement

Brian M. Barefoot and Kristyn Harrington have been appointed to the board of trustees of Southwestern Vermont Health Care. Barefoot's background includes education, financial management, health care investment banking and investment management. He serves on the investment committee of Blue Cross, Blue Shield of Massachusetts; as vice chair of the Cleveland Clinic Indian River Foundation in Vero Beach, Fla.; as a trustee of Burr and Burton Academy; and as president of the board of governors of Ekwanok Country Club in Manchester, Vt.. Barefoot and his wife, Pam, divide time between Dorset, Vt; Vero Beach and Boston.

Harrington is the owner of KDH Counseling PLLC, which provides mental health and substance abuse evaluations and treatment. For nearly 20 years, she worked in various positions within the Mount Anthony Union School District in Bennington, including as a school-based clinician, a clinical coordinator and assistant principal.

Article Continues After These Ads


Chamber elects officers, honors inn

The Stockbridge Chamber of Commerce recently elected new officers for the 2020-21 term, at its annual meeting, which took place at Wheatleigh.

Margaret Kerswill of Mutability in Motion was elected president; Lee Watroba of the Austen Riggs Center, vice president; Douglas Goudey of Wheeler & Taylor, assistant vice president; Susan Higa of The Red Lion Inn/Main Street Hospitality, treasurer; and Mary Flournoy of the National Shrine of the Divine Mercy, secretary.

Article Continues After Advertisement

Mike Tucker of Qualprint; Alyssa Stable of Berkshire Theatre Group; Pam Boudreau of Lee Bank; and Doug Bagnasco of 1800 Devonfield Country Inn are joining the board as members at large. Jeff Bell of the Inn at Stockbridge has resigned as vice president, after four years on the board of directors.

The Stockbridge Country Inn and Diane and Vernon Reuss were appreciated and recognized for all they have done to advocate the chamber's commitment to the support of the businesses and the overall well-being of the town of Stockbridge and its environs.


Chamber reelects officers, presents awards

The Lee Chamber of Commerce reelected Robert Healey of the Chambery Inn, Jen O'Neil of Greylock Federal Credit Union and Rebecca Martin of NBT Bank to its board of directors recently, at the organization's annual meeting and awards ceremony at Greenock Country Club.

Janice LePrevost received the 2019 Volunteer of the Year Award; Lee Audio N'Security, the 2019 Citizen of the Year Award; "Tuna" Ron Driscoll, the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award; and Alan "Zippy" Zerbata, the 2019 Distinguished Service Award.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions