Leach wins third term on Peru Select Board

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

PERU — Verne Leach secured a third term on Peru's Select Board in recent balloting.

Leach, of East Main Road, outpolled a rival, Colleen M. LaRochelle, of South Road Extension.

The tally was 123-108 in town elections June 8.

Leach was elected to a three-year term in the election's only contest.

Elsewhere on the ballot, Peggy White of Lafayette Drive was reelected to a two-year term as a constable.

Jesse C. Pelkey of North Road was elected to a five-year term on the Finance Committee.

Darryl Darby received four write-in votes for a three-year seat on the Board of Health, as well as 53 votes for a five-year term on the Planning Board.

Justin Russell received 52 write-in votes for a one-year term as tree warden..

In all, 233 ballots were cast, a 36 percent turnout of the town's 645 registered voters, according to Town Clerk Kim Leach.



If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions