Longtime incumbent faces challenge from School Committee chairwoman for Lee Select Board seat

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

LEE — Select Board Chairwoman Patricia Carlino, a seven-term incumbent, is facing a challenge by School Committee Chairwoman Andrea Wadsworth.

The high-profile race for the three-year term is the only contest on Monday's annual town election ballot. Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Crossway Village gymnasium on High Street. It will be the first time Carlino faces opposition since 2013, when she won a three-way race to remain in office.

A 39-year veteran of town government in Lee, Carlino has spent the last 21 years as a member of the Select Board. Her four decades of municipal government experience also include being town clerk, treasurer, serving on the School Committee, Planning Board and working for the Tri-Town Health Department. She recently retired after five years as the part-time town administrator in Chester.

Wadsworth has been on the school board for a total of four years and is the business administrator for Lee Public Schools, a position she's held for three years. Wadsworth also spent five years as the accountant for the Berkshire Hills Regional School District.

The other four incumbents on Monday's ballot are running unopposed. R. Christopher Brittain is vying for another one-year term as moderator, Anna Wescott and Loren Kinnaman each seek three more years on the School Committee, and Peter Bluhm is running for another five-year term on the Planning Board.

Dick Lindsay can be reached at rlindsay@berkshireeagle.com and 413-496-6233.



If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions