Newcomer unseats Planning Board chairwoman in Williamstown


WILLIAMSTOWN — Political newcomer Dante Birch has defeated Amy Jeschawitz in the race for a five-year seat on the Planning Board.

The vote was 608-343 in Birch's favor. Jeschawitz had been the board's chairwoman for the past three years.

All other races were unopposed in Tuesday's annual town election

Select Board incumbents Jane Patton earned 743 votes and Jeffrey Thomas won 678 votes.

Four library trustees, Debra DiMassimo, Peter Mehlin, Bridget Spann and Micha Manary, will return to their posts.

Northern Berkshire Regional School Committee David J. Westall and Town Moderator J. Adam Filson also were reelected without a contest.

Scott Stafford can be reached at or 413-629-4517.

Editor's note: A town official incorrectly reported the results of the Planning Board race to The Eagle on Tuesday night, resulting in an error in Wednesday's print edition.



If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions