Pittsfield: Miss Hall's graduates 18 local students

PITTSFIELD — Fifty-six students, including 18 from Berkshire County and nearby communities, graduated Sunday, June 3, during Miss Hall's School's 120th commencement. Ceremonies took place under a large tent on the front lawn of the school's Holmes Road campus.

Vanessa Stair, corporate relations officer for Doctors Without Borders/Medecins Sans Frontieres and a member of the Miss Hall's School Class of 2006, delivered this year's commencement address.

The Class of 2018 included the following local students: Cristina Aillon of Pittsfield; Madison Bellemare of Hoosick Falls, N.Y.; Kelsey Brown of Lee; Lillian Climo of Great Barrington; Isabelle Currie of Dalton; Shae Daley of Pittsfield; Gabrielle Hinkley of Dalton; Emily Hunter of West Stockbridge; Anouk Jolly of Lenox; Olivia Kinne of Pittsfield; Michela Laurin of Pittsfield; Mariah Lewis of Williamstown; Jayme McGuigan of Pittsfield; Samantha Miriam Myers of Great Barrington; Shanti Nelson of Lenox; Tyra Price of Pittsfield; Katherine Sheridan of Stockbridge; and Elizabeth Tagliaferro of Pittsfield.

Local seniors Lillian Climo, Shae Daley, Emily Hunter, Samantha Miriam Myers, and Elizabeth Tagliaferro, and junior Trudy Fadding of Glendale, were recognized for their induction this year into the Cum Laude Society, the national organization honoring scholastic achievement at secondary schools. They joined senior Kelsey Brown who was inducted in 2017.

The following awards were bestowed during the commencement and related recognition ceremonies (students are seniors unless otherwise noted):

Joseph F. Buerger Memorial School Spirit Cup: Jayme McGuigan.

Meus Honor Stat Keys Awarded for MHS Core Competencies: Interpersonal Efficacy — Isabelle Currie; Gumption — Emily Hunter.

Christine Fuller Holland '33 Service Prize: Shanti Nelson.

Faculty Commendation Prize: Michela Laurin.

Sylvia "Rusty" Shethar Everdell '38 Prize: Emily Hunter.

Andrea Becker '79 Prize: Trudy Fadding of Glendale, Class of 2019.

Mansfield E. Pickett Latin Prize: Katherine Sheridan.

Spanish Prize: Elizabeth Tagliaferro.

Monique Jalbert French Prize: Shanti Nelson.

Virginia Breene Wickwire '67 Reading Prize: Olivia Kinne.

Doris E. Pitman English Prize: Emily Hunter.

Susanna McCreath Music Prize: Isabelle Currie.

Angela Kalischer Theater Prize: Olivia Kinne, Michela Laurin, Jayme McGuigan.

Ceramics Award: Mariah Lewis.

Elizabeth Gatchell Klein Studio Art Prize: Lillian Climo.

Rising Distinction Awards for Juniors (Class of 2019): Athletics — Merriam Lrhazi of Lee; Engineering and Technology Innovation — Charlotte Adelson of Lee; English — Faia Kronick of Pittsfield; Expressive Arts — Trudy Fadding of Glendale.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions