Richard Scialabba ekes out win in Hinsdale Select Board race

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

HINSDALE —- Richard Scialabba was elected to the Select Board after earning just 10 more votes than his challenger at Saturday's annual town election, according to preliminary results released by the clerk's office.

Scialabba earned 130 votes, besting Select Board candidate Richard Roussin, who earned 120 votes in the town's only contested race. Scialabba currently serves as chairman of the town's Planning Board, and Roussin sits on the Board of Assessors.

The Select Board seat was left vacant after member Rich Kardasen decided not to run for another term.

No one qualified for the ballot this summer for two open seats on the Planning Board, but Scialabba received the most write-in votes for each of those positions. Scialabba has said that he would continue serving on the Planning Board if elected as a write-in candidate, and would recuse himself from votes as needed should his dual positions present a conflict.

Article Continues After Advertisement

Scialabba, who has lived in Hinsdale full time since he retired 15 years ago from his career as an auditor at Aetna, is a responder with the Hinsdale Volunteer Fire Department. His late wife, Laurel, previously served as chairwoman of the Select Board.

Anyone interested in submitting their name for consideration to fill the open position on the Planning Board should send a letter of intent to the Select Board, according to the town clerk's office.

Article Continues After These Ads

A total of 253 voters cast ballots absentee or in person, which shakes out to approximately 18 percent of the town's 1,423 registered voters, the clerk's office said.

There were three open positions on the town's Finance Committee, and James Chivers, of Peru Road, was the top vote-getter with 188 votes. Incumbent Mary Rice received 182 votes, and current Finance Committee member Christine Pike received 6 write-in votes.

Article Continues After Advertisement

Pike, a longtime member of the Finance Committee, on Monday confirmed her intention to serve another three-year term.

"They wrote me in because I didn't pull papers, but they wanted me to stay on, so I guess I'm staying on," she said with a laugh.

Neil Barrocas ran uncontested and was re-elected to another three-year term as assessor, with 187 votes. Town Clerk Dawn Frissell, who also ran unopposed, earned 232 votes for another three-year term in office.

Amanda Burke can be reached at, on Twitter @amandaburkec and 413-496-6296.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions