Roundup: 6 Berkshire County wrestlers advance to MIAA Division III state tournament semifinals

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

WAYLAND — After the first day of the MIAA Division III wrestling championships, six wrestlers from Berkshire County advanced to the semifinals after going 2-0.

Mount Everett's Nick Lupiani (106 pounds) and Zack Lupiani (126), Taconic's Mike LaFreniere (132), Dylan Burke (195) and Shawn O'Shea (220), and Monument Mountain's Logan Mead (220) were the undefeated wrestlers on the day. O'Shea and Mead are on opposite sides of the bracket, meaning they would only square off in the finals or in a consolation round.

Nick and Zack Lupiani both recorded two pins each to advance, with Nick recording both falls in the first period.

LaFreniere, who earned his 150th career win at last weekend's Western Mass. championships, also scored a pair of pins to advance. Burke, meanwhile, opened with a pin before advancing to the semifinals via forfeit. O'Shea won a 12-4 major decision in his opener, before getting a pin in the quarterfinals.

Mead joined the rest of the pin party by getting two falls himself, one in the third round and one in the second.

Still alive in the consolation rounds are: Ryan Scott (Taconic, 145), Jack Rosier (Mount Greylock, 160) and Caden O'Rourke (Monument Mountain, 195).

Taconic is in fourth place as a team. The defending state champs have 40 points after the first day. Melrose leads with 74, while Wayland had 57 points and Norton has 47.

Mount Greylock's Ty Lepicier, Mount Everett's Eduardo Rodriguez and Jerimiah Tomascak, Monument's Ely Cormier and Sam Cormier, and Taconic's Broc Healey, David Babineau and Mike Puskey all competed on Friday, but did not advance to Saturday's portion of the competition.Nick Lupiani will face Norton's Steven Chaffee in the semis, Zack will face Sandwich's Connor Keegan, LaFreniere will meet Georgetown-Ipswich's Troy Forgitano, Burke will wrestle Wayland's CJ Brown, O'Shea will square off against Melrose's Matt Hickey, and Mead has a showdown with Keefe Tech's Nero Bono.

Western Mass. Senior All-Star Game rosters announced

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the names for the 2020 Western Massachusetts Senior All-Star Games. For the 10th year, the Hall of Fame is recognizing local graduating seniors with the showcase games, which will take place on March 19 at the Jerry Colangelo Court of Dreams inside the Hall.

The first game, the Division III-IV boys game, takes place at 5:30 p.m. and will feature Drury's Scott McGuire, Hoosac Valley's Izaha Stubbs, Mount Greylock's Toby Foehl, along with Wahconah's Kevin Huban and Tom O'Connor. All five local hoopers are on the same team.

The second game includes all girls in Divisions I through IV. Hoosac Valley's Riley Robinson, Pittsfield's Jordyn Lummus and Taconic's Taea Bramer, all on the same team, will all hit the court at 7 p.m.

The final game tips off at 8:30 p.m. and features the D-I and D-II boys. Taconic's Isaac Percy and Mohammed Sanogo were both selected to suit up.

Article Continues After These Ads

Tickets for the All-Star games will be available at the Hall of Fame box office the night of the event and are good for all three games. Tickets are $10 for adults and $5 for students.

High School Bowling

Final Regular Season Standings — Wahconah 19-5; Drury 18-6; Pittsfield 18-6; Lee 14-10; McCann 14-10; Taconic 12-12; Wahconah Grey 9-15; Mount Everett 4-20; Mount Greylock 0-24.

Last Week's Results

Wahconah Grey 2, Mount Everett 1

WG — Brian Rock 203-150; ME — Tucker Wilkerson 167-148.

McCann 3, Mount Greylock 0

MT — Aleasia Yeaton 196-183; MG Antoniette Dykes 143-209.

Lee 2, Taconic 1

L — Adam Dingman 199-219; T — Mya Duhamel 178-190.

Drury 2, Pittsfield 1

D — Kaitlyn Mongeon 201-247; P — Colby Rooney 213-206. Drury secured the second playoff bye in a win over Pittsfield on the final shoot in the final game by Justyn Cowell, who won by one pin.

Playoffs will take place at Ken's Bowl on Feb. 28. and feature best of seven Baker Games.

Schedule — Taconic vs. Pittsfield (winner players Drury in match three); Lee vs. McCann (winner plays Wahconah in match four). The fifth, and final match will feature the winners of matches Nos. 3 and 4.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions