Selectman George McGurn earns new term in uncontested Egremont vote

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

EGREMONT — In a predominantly absentee election, town residents elected nine town officials at their annual town election.

Of the total 228 votes cast in Friday's election, 186 were delivered by mail; only 42 votes were cast in person at Town Hall. There are 1,030 registered voters in the town.

George McGurn won another term on the Select Board with 192 votes. Laura Allen received two write-in votes, and Richard Allen, Jana Laiz and Genis Melendez Delaney each received one.

Assessor Robin Goldberg was reelected with 217 votes, with one write-in vote going to Dennis Kostyk. For the office of moderator, Stephen L. Cohen received 206 votes, with Richard Allen receiving two write-in votes and Charles Proctor getting one.

Marjorie Wexler won her race for the Planning Board with 213 votes, with one write-in vote each going to Heidi Zorn and Darya Geeter. David D. Campbell was returned to the Cemetery Commission with 209 votes. Newcomer Matthew D. Bersani received 192 votes for a term on the Planning Board, with one write-in vote going to Ari Zorn.

Town Clerk Juliette S. Haas was reelected as town clerk with 223 votes. Finally, for the office of tree warden, James M. Olmsted received 210 votes and Tom Sierau received one write-in.



If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions