Several Berkshire towns elect new faces to Select Board

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

Four Select Board races highlighted another busy Monday of annual town elections in the Berkshires.

Lee reelected a veteran incumbent, as West Stockbridge, New Marlborough and Sheffield voted in new Select Board members.

In all, the electorate in eight Berkshire municipalities went to the polls, with Windsor and Mount Washington lacking contested races on their ballots. Hancock voters' only decision was whether to change the town treasurer from an elected to an appointed position. Results from Hancock and Mount Washington were unavailable late Monday night.


By a count of 422-299, Patricia Carlino fended off challenger Andrea Wadsworth for her eighth consecutive three-year term on the Select Board.

In all, 724 out of 4,179 registered voters cast ballots, a 17 percent turnout.

Carlino was facing her first opposition since winning a three-way contest in 2013.

"A good race is a good thing because it shows there's interest in town," she said. "I'm grateful to the voters for their support."

Carlino has four decades of municipal government experience that also includes being town clerk, treasurer, serving on the School Committee and Planning Board, and working for the Tri-Town Health Department. She recently retired after five years as the part-time town administrator in Chester.

Wadsworth also brought several years of public service experience to the campaign with a total of four years on the Lee School Committee and the last three years as the business administrator for Lee Public Schools. She was also the town treasurer in Lenox and spent five years as the accountant in the Berkshire Hills Regional School District.

Wadsworth was impressed by the turnout of constituents who wanted a change.

Article Continues After Advertisement

"I ran to have a voice, and I think based on the numbers, my voice still needs to be heard," she said.

Running unopposed were incumbents Christopher Brittain for moderator, Planning Board member Peter Bluhm, and Anna Wescott and Loren Kinnaman for School Committee.

West Stockbridge

Peter Skorput is out as selectman after six years in office. Challenger Eric Shimelonis edged out Skorput, 179-145, for a three-year stint on the Select Board.

The remaining candidates on the ballot ran unopposed; Eugene Dellea for moderator, Ronni Barrett as town clerk, town collector June Briggs, Ed Sporn for a seat on the Board of Assessors, and Andrew Fudge and Gunnar Gudmunson for Planning Board.

Article Continues After These Ads

In addition, Scott Sawyer was reelected to Board of Health; Jayne Benjamin as a library trustee; and Marion Loring stays on the cemetery commission.

Local election officials report 327 out of 1,153 registered voters went to the polls, a 28 percent turnout.

New Marlborough

Richard Long defeated Ivan Douglas Newman, 245-115, to capture a seat on the Select Board. Long succeeds Michele Shalaby who opted against seeking another three-year term. The only other contested race saw 33-year incumbent Marsha Pshenishny hold off challenger Scott Walker, 185-156 to retain her spot on the Board of Assessors.

Moderator Barry Shapiro, Board of Health member John Bellinger, cemetery commissioner Tammi Palmer and Finance Committee member John Pshenishny were unopposed for reelection. The other uncontested races were were Nathan Redman for tree warden, Carrie Ann Liba for library trustee, Eric Schaefer to the Planning Board with Michele Shalaby and Barbara Marchione the newest members to the Finance Committee.

No one ran for the open five-year term on the Planning Board.

Article Continues After Advertisement

Roughly 30 percent of the town's 1,042 registered voters cast ballots.


The only contested race was to determine who would succeed David Smith, who didn't seek another term on the Select Board.

Martin Mitsoff is Smith's successor, defeating James Collingwood, 478-346. In all, 826 of the 2,363 registered voters, or 35 percent, came out to vote.

The uncontested seats included William Tighe for moderator; George Oleen and Kenneth Smith for three years each on the Planning Board; Caitlyn Marsden McNeill to fill an unexpired term on the Planning Board and Library Trustee Pat Levine.


Close to 10 percent of of the town's 675 registered voters did their civic duty despite a lack of contested races on the Windsor ballot.

Voters returned Kim Tobin to the Select Board, with Don Hall elected without opposition to an open three-year seat on the Finance Committee. Others elected include Marcia Musiak, to a three-year seat on the Cemetery Commission; Kip Buoymaster to a three-year term as constable; Jordan Koch to a two-year term as constable; and Beth Webb to a three-year seat as a library trustee.

Doug McNally, a member of the Select Board, added to his town duties by earning a five-year seat on the Planning Board, while John Jones secured a one-year seat on the Planning Board. Mark Hague notched a one-year term as tree warden, and Mark Efinger was reelected as moderator.

Dick Lindsay can be reached at and 413-496-6233.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions