Turnout light in vote for Richmond incumbents, newcomers

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

RICHMOND — There were no surprises at Saturday's annual town election, nor could there have been.

Fifty-three of the town's 1,148 registered voters, a turnout of just under 5 percent, trooped to Town Hall to reelect current office holders and vote in several newcomers on a ballot with no contested races.

Current Select Board Chairman Neal Pilson will serve another three-year term on the three-member board, with a new chairman expected to be named at the next meeting, as part of the annual rotation.

The town moderator, attorney William Martin of Martin & Oliveira in Pittsfield, is on deck for an additional one-year term, presiding over annual and special town meetings.

On the Finance Committee, current members John Mason and Patricia Callahan are aboard for additional three-year slots, while Robert Youdelman, a newcomer to the committee, was elected as the sole candidate for an open two-year position.

For the Planning Board, incumbent Richard Bell gets another five-year term, while new members Douglas Bruce and Peter Lopez were elected for four- and two-year slots, respectively.

Susan Benner is now on the School Committee, filling a one-year open position. Incumbents Louise Maron and Frederick Schubert remain on the Board of Health for three-year terms. Library Trustee Nanci McConnell was elected to another three-year post.



If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions